Dallas Women Lawyers Association Announces 2018 Award Recipients

Dallas Women Lawyers Association (DWLA) is pleased to announce an exceptional group of legal and community trailblazers as honorees for the DWLA 2018 Annual Awards Reception.

The Raggio Award is named for DWLA co-founder and Dallas legal pioneer Louise B. Raggio, who was the first female prosecutor in Dallas County and who helped develop the Texas Family Code. Each year, the organization presents the Raggio Award to someone who has demonstrated the highest level of professionalism while making significant contributions to the advancement of women attorneys. Other awards include Outstanding Corporate Counsel, Outstanding Female Lawyer (Small and Large Firm), Rising Raggio, and Her Champion, which recognizes a male who has supported, mentored, and promoted the advancement and development of women in the legal profession.

The 2018 Award recipients will be honored on Thursday, October 18th at the Omni Dallas Hotel. More than 500 guests, including law firms, in-house counsel, and judiciary are expected to attend.

2018 Award Recipients:
Louise B. Raggio Award-Mary Emma Karam Partner-Jackson Walker

Outstanding Corporate Counsel-Lisa Havens, Sr. VP, Legal Counsel, and Director of Risk Management- Baylor Scott White
Outstanding Female Lawyer-Large Firm- Shonn Brown, Partner-Lynn Pinker Cox Hurst
Outstanding Female Lawyer-Small Firm-Amber Reece, Associate-Figari+Davenport
Rising Raggio-Anna Rupani, Legal Program Director-Mosaic Family Services
Her Champion Award-Rob Walters, Partner-in-Charge-Gibson Dunn

Louise B. Raggio Award-Mary Emma Karam, Partner-Jackson Walker
Mary Emma (Ackels) Karam is a preeminent Dallas healthcare contracting attorney, sought after outside general counsel, and recognized authority in managed care. She has practiced law at Jackson Walker, LLP for over 30 years and is the first female associate to become a partner at Jackson Walker. She has been a trailblazer for all, but especially women. Her professional accomplishments include being appointed by the Texas Attorney General to serve the State of Texas for consultation in healthcare/managed care matters, handling managed care contracting for hospital system across 47 states, representing over 4000 physicians through large physician organizations, and represents a number of different hospitals or hospital systems. She is outside general counsel to the Catholic Diocese of Dallas and has served as past president/chairman for Ursuline Academy and Ursuline Academy Foundation.

Other honorees include:
Outstanding Corporate Counsel-Lisa Havens-Baylor Scott White
Lisa Havens is senior vice president, legal counsel, and director of risk management with Baylor Scott White. Previously, she was a civil litigation trial attorney, primarily in the areas of medical malpractice and employment law. In addition to earning her juris doctorate degree from Baylor University School of Law, she also earned a master of science degree in nursing from the University of Texas and served in the U.S. Air Force Reserves as Nurse, 1st Lieutenant.

Outstanding Female Lawyer-Large Firm-A. Shonn Brown-Lynn Pinker Cox Hurst
A. Shonn Brown is a partner with the law firm, Lynn Pinker Cox and Hurst. She is a highly respected trial lawyer and bar and civic leader, who counsels and advocates for businesses and individual clients engaged in complex legal disputes.

Outstanding Female Lawyer-Small Firm-Amber Reece-Figari+Davenport
Amber Reece, an associate with Figari + Davenport, is a trial attorney with experience in all aspects of litigation and arbitration from pre-trial strategy through jury charge and appeals.

Rising Raggio -Anna Rupani-Mosaic Family Services
Anna Rupani is legal program director for Mosaic Family Services, a nonprofit community-based organization that provides culturally and linguistically competent services to refugees and immigrants in crisis.

Her Champion Award-Rob Walters-Gibson Dunn
Rob Walters is the Dallas office partner-in-charge with Gibson Dunn. In his over 35‐plus‐year career, Walters has advanced the careers of dozens of women lawyers and is being awarded the first ever “Her Champion Award” for his unwavering commitment to support, encourage, mentor, and promote the advancement and development of women in the legal profession.

“We are honored to celebrate our recipients all of whom are outstanding leaders for their legal achievements, and community involvement. DWLA’s mission to elevate the standing of women in the legal profession is strongly represented by each recipient, and we are proud to recognize them,” says Stephanie Osteen, president, DWLA.

Dallas Women Lawyers Association was founded in 1969 and is a non-profit organization that works to benefit women attorneys and elevate the standing of women in the legal profession. Founding members include Dallas lawyers Louise B. Raggio, Judge Sarah T. Hughes and Joann Peters.

For more information, visit https://dallaswomenlawyers.org/dwla-announces-2018-award-recipients/