Dallas Bar Association Creates DBA WE LEAD Program

The Dallas Bar Association (DBA), in partnership with the Dallas Women’s Foundation and the Dallas Women Lawyers Association, has developed DBA WE LEAD: Women Empowered to Lead in the Legal Profession. The DBA WE LEAD Program is one of DBA President Michael K. Hurst’s initiatives for 2018.

“Gender equality in the workplace is imperative—morally, and because equality creates maximum benefit to our communities and economy,” said Hurst, of Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst. “It is important for me personally for the Dallas Bar to partner with the DWF and DWLA to uplift, support and impact women facing their unique challenges in the legal profession.”

DBA WE LEAD is a leadership program designed to address the challenges of high-performing women who have practiced law for eight to 15 years. The purpose of DBA WE LEAD is to address the unique challenges facing women in the legal profession; to empower, educate and uplift women lawyers to take an already successful law practice to new heights; and to prepare lawyers for active professional leadership within their law firm, the business community and the community at large.

“I am thrilled to chair the WE LEAD program because it is imperative that high-performing women lawyers push through to roles of management and leadership in our law firms and corporate legal departments,” said Program Chair Shonn Brown, of Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst. “The WE LEAD program will arm them with the tools to do just that. Our Committee has worked tirelessly to develop a substantive curriculum that can be a game-changer for the 2018 WE LEAD Class.”

Participants of the program include: Ashlie Alaman, Vistra Energy; Michelle Alonzo, Cowles Thompson PC; Katie Anand, Estes Thorne & Carr PLLC; Alison Ashmore, Dykema Cox Smith; Liz Boydston, Norton Rose Fulbright LLP; Sara Chelette, Jackson Walker L.L.P.; Katharine Clark, Thompson & Knight LLP; Chalon Clark, Husch Blackwell LLP; Sara Duran, Sidley Austin LLP; Lacy Durham, Deloitte Tax LLP; Lindsay Hedrick, Jones Day; Michelle Jacobs, Haynes and Boon LLP; Valerie James, UNT Dallas College of Law; Kathleen Kilanowski, Deans & Lyons LLP; Meagan Martin, Heygood, Orr, & Pearson L.L.P.; Bina Palnitkar, Greenberg Traurig LLP; Courtney Perez, Carter Scholer PLLC; Amber Rogers, Hunton & Williams LLP; Sara Romine, Carrington, Coleman, Sloman & Blumenthal L.L.P.; Elizabeth Ryan, Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst LLP; Jennifer Ryback, McGuire, Craddock & Strother P.C.; Jennifer Tobin, Geary, Porter & Donovan P.C.; Kelly Vickers, Locke Lord LLP; and Tamera Woodard, AT&T.

For more information, visit http://www.dallasbar.org/press-release/dallas-bar-association-creates-dba-we-lead-program